A little bit North

So the new plan says I have two days before I need to catch a ferry to Denmark. So I’m going to ride north for one day stay overnight and ride back to Gothenburg.

The ride north starts out well. There are wide tree lined bike lanes in the centre of Gothenburg then as I get to the port area they become purely functional.

There are two bike lanes and a pedestrian  lane on each side of the highway. Being a highway lined there is not a lot to see. Lots of big semi industrial shops and eventually an Ikea. They look the same all over the world of course although the signage is in Swedish.

Then it’s just highway and fields. The bike lane turns to dirt but I keep going. Turns out this was the wrong thing to do. The dirt road wasn’t official bike lane anymore and eventually just ran out. I went back until I could get onto the quiet regular road that was also now the official bike route.

I have to stop as the bridge raises to let a ship go by. There is z nice view of the local fortress from here.  I contemplate eating at Vikinggrillen a fast food burger place but decide to continue on to the town and a real cafe.

From here I decide to head for the marina just going to the b&b is too short but getting out to the islands seems too much effort.

The marina looks beautiful in the sunshine and I decide to stop and have a drink. I am lucky and they have a local stout.

I head to the b&b which is further from the town than I realise. I meet one of the other guests an engineer from Finland who is staying there for six months while he works on a nearby construction site.

I ask if there is a restaurant nearby and he says no but I can have one of his frozen meals. I agree and we spend the evening discussing process engineering. The costs and job opportunities of various European countries and many other interesting topics.

There is also a couple with a young child staying here but they don’t speak English beyond hello and they go back to their cottage quickly.

 

 

Leave a comment